Easy-Bake, Not An Easy Interview, And The Lion King

Standard
Easy-Bake, Not An Easy Interview, And The Lion King

I only ever baked one thing in my Easy-Bake Oven. It was a brownie. I remember it like it was yesterday…

It was a Saturday afternoon in the early 90’s. I was so excited to finally get to use my Easy-Bake Oven. It was one of my big gifts that Christmas. My gram would be my assistant in the baking process. Little did I know she’d turn on me at the drop of a tear. I worked hard on that brownie…and waited…a long time. It takes time to bake a brownie using only a light bulb. Finally, my patience paid off. I took my brownie out and placed it on the counter to let it cool. It looked amazing and I couldn’t wait to eat it and revel in my sense of accomplishment. I walked…no…strutted out of the kitchen. A few minutes later, I came downstairs to enjoy my treat. I saw Briana first. She was standing in the kitchen, dangerously close to my brownie, with her bike helmet still on, crying. Gram was comforting her. That’s when I saw it (or didn’t see it)…

The brownie was gone.

Gram gave it to Briana because she was crying. I lost it. Now, let me explain something about myself to all of you. I’m a control freak and at a young age, the signs were already there. I screamed. How could Gram give away my brownie? She saw how hard I worked on it…how much I wanted to enjoy it myself…what went wrong?  Believe it or not, I was able to eventually forgive my dear sister and for as vivid as this story is, I don’t hold it against her…too much. So, I never baked another thing in my Easy-Bake Oven.

You might guess what brought on this reflection. News came out Friday that the Easy-Bake Oven’s been redesigned for the 11th time. This time, no light bulb! Plus, look at this fancy design. You’d think it would bake faster…you’d be wrong AND it’s pricier.

Would you drop $50 for this?

Now on to the interview portion of this post. Have you guys seen the little girl from “Toddlers and Tiaras” being interviewed? One website said she showed she could do more expressions than Jim Carrey. After seeing the interview, I completely agree! I’m sure you would, too. Interviewing kids is ALWAYS hard, but this interview takes the cake. This little girl just can’t get enough of herself!

http://cdnapi.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_c0ca1do2/uiconf_id/48502

Staying on the subject of interviewing, this has to be the BEST description of a car crash I’ve ever heard. Check this out!

http://www.myfoxphoenix.com/video/videoplayer.swf?dppversion=11212

Power Lines Fall on Crashed Vehicle, Driver Trapped: MyFoxPHOENIX.com

In movie news, The Lion King took home the top spot this weekend at the box office. Drew and I saw it in 3D on Sunday and…wow! I remember seeing it in the movies when it was released originally. It was the first movie that made me cry. I highly recommend seeing it again if you get the chance. The theater wasn’t filled with all kids, either! The Lion King is a great movie and seeing it on the big screen again only made me believe that even more. I feel like as an adult, I was able to appreciate how awesome it really is.

This is one of my favorite parts from the movie

Well, I think that’s it for now. Let me know if you go see The Lion King!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment